Skip To Main Content

School Board Home

Lewistown Public Schools Mission Statement

Excellence Today, Success Tomorrow

The Lewistown Public Schools Board of Trustees consists of seven members elected by the voters of Lewistown Elementary District No. 1 and the Fergus High School District. Each member serves a three-year term without compensation.

The Board of Trustees serves as the agent of the State of Montana, assigned by law, to provide the educational services and facilities for the Lewistown Public Schools. Its purpose is to provide a program of quality education for this community. As such, this Board represents the community in establishing a sound philosophy (as established by our core values and the goals and strategic objectives) for all educational programs and activities, adopting policies for operation of the school program, providing leadership for educational progress, installing adequate methods of evaluation of existing programs, and developing sound financial plans consistent with school needs and community resources.

The Board formulates policy for the realization of the above role and employs professional educators for the administration of the program.  The Board hires a Superintendent of Schools to execute its policies.

The public is most welcome to attend Board meetings, usually held on the second Monday of each month.  Unless otherwise designated, these meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Lincoln Building at 215 Seventh Avenue South in Lewistown. Special meetings are called as needed by the Board Chair.  For information on specific Board meetings, please use the links for agendas and Board packets organized by academic year in the sidebar.

School Board News

No post to display.